Michigan Kingpins

Michigan's all-access bowling show. (Episode 6)
(Episode 5)

Angela Wilt Wins MDUSBC Women's Series Event at Mayflower Lanes

Runner-Up Lisa Bishop, MDUSBC President Mike DeRousie, and Champion Angela Wilt

Angela Wilt of Westland won the Metro Detroit USBC Association (MDUSBC) Rip 10 Entertainment Women’s Series event on Sunday with a 207-194 triumph over Lisa Bishop of Garden City at Mayflower Lanes in Redford. Wilt took home the top prize of $500, while Bishop settled for $250.

Wilt qualified seventh in the field of 31, with a four-game total of 796. She started slow in qualifying, but closed with a 246 game to make the cut by 27 pins. In match play she beat Tanisha Burris of Lansing in triple overtime 40-36 after tying at 179. The first two ninth and 10th frame rolloffs ended up tied with 38 and 28.

After getting by the first match she beat three previous Women’s Series champions, Sara Litteral of Redford 215-189, Sandra Schultz of Macomb 202-153 and Bishop.

Bishop qualified fourth with 848. In match play she beat Rebecca Keegan of Carleton 256-209 and Cathleen Kowalski of Livonia 224-209 to advance to the final match.

Ronnie Sparks Jr Wins Michigan State Masters at Century Bowl

Runner-Up Gary Schluchter, Director Scott McLeod, and Champion Ronnie Sparks, Jr.

Ronnie Sparks Jr. of Inkster won the Michigan State Masters at Century Bowl in Waterford Township Sunday when he defeated Gary Schluchter of Fremont, Ohio 457-445 in the two-game title match to win the $4,000 first prize. Schluchter settled for the second place check of $2,000.

Sparks qualified 12th with a six-game total of 1,355. His run in the winner’s bracket included wins over John Robertson of Waterford Township 470-335, Ryan Mouw of Muskegon 450-350, Terrence Syring Jr. of Bay City 453-370, Thomas Smallwood of Saginaw 463-438 and Schluchter the first time 429-426. He then lost to Schluchter 448-363 to force a final match. Sparks averaged 222 for 20 games of competition.

He also won a paid entry into the 2015 United States Bowling Congress Masters tournament.


Champion Dale Strike, Director Scott McLeod, and Runner-Up Harold Sullins

Dale Strike of Saginaw won the sixth annual Michigan State Senior Masters at Century Bowl in Waterford Township Sunday when he defeated Harold Sullins of Chesterfield Township 443-421 in the final two-game total pins match to win the $2,500 first prize and the title. Sullins settled for the second place check of $1,500.

Strike qualified 11th with a six-game total of 1,332 on games of 197, 256, 225, 237, 225 and 192. He remained in the winner’s bracket with triumphs over Marvin Holly of Commerce Township 455-410, Timothy Baker of Shelby Township 447-428, Mike Raleigh of Clyde 462-393 and Nick Cipiti of Clinton Township 436-362 before losing to Sullins 481-371. In the loser's bracket he beat Curtis Odom of Coldwater 420-418 to advance to the final match where he avenged his earlier defeat to Sullins 465-398 to extend the match.

Strike averaged 223 for the entire tournament. He also wins a paid entry into the 2014 USBC Senior Masters tournament.

Michigan Majors


Aaron Lorincz Completes Triple Crown at Mayflower Lanes

The Budweiser Michigan Majors Bowling Association’s first Major of the year was held at Mayflower Lanes in Redford March 15-16. One of the MMBA’s youngest stars Aaron Lorincz of Saginaw added his name to the list of Triple Crown winners by defeating Frank Snodgrass of Roseville three games to one at our annual Match Game Championship. Only Gene Stus and Larry Walker have accomplished this feat.

Start Time:
Host Center:


Subscribe to MichiganBowling.com RSS